Lapin korkeakoulukirjasto: Theseus Guide: Search for thesis

Theses and Dissertations

With Finnish Finna.fi search service you are able to find graduate theses (UAS Thesis, Master's' Thesis) and dissertations.

Make a search using word(s) from your topic. Then use Content type limiters under Thesis option to narrow the search results.

Open Access Repositories of the Finnish Universities

Each university repository contains some material that is not listed in Finna.fi search results. Therefore it is uselful to make searches also in individual repositories.

Aalto University publication archive Aaltodoc publication archive consists of full text materials produced in the university, such as theses, journal articles, conference publications and research materials produced by the schools of Aalto University.
Helda - Digital Repository of University of Helsinki HELDA serves as a full text repository for research articles and institutional series, as well as for teaching and research material produced by the departments and faculties of the University.
University of Eastern Finland eRepo UEF eRepo, the open access materials repository of the University of Eastern Finland, contains theses and publications of the University of Eastern Finland, self-archived versions of articles and metadata of research data made available by our researchers.
Jultika - University of Oulu repository The open access repository Jultika contains: All academic dissertations and other publications published in the series Acta Universitatis Ouluensis, some of the dissertations and other publications published in other publication series of the University of Oulu, and some of the dissertations published outside the publication series of the university (since 06/2000). Master's degree level theses published openly: pro gradu theses and diploma theses, as well as advanced studies theses of the Faculty of Medicine (since 01/2013) Bachelor's theses (since 1/2016) Theses with restricted access are only available for reading on the e-thesis workstations. Older theses can be searched for in the Oulu University Library online catalogue (Oula-Finna) Self-archived publications of University of Oulu (since 01/2017)
Jyväskylä University Digital Repository JYX contains digital materials of University of Jyväskylä from master's and licentiate theses to dissertations and from digitized journals to originally electronic materials. The majority of the collection is openly available. There may, however, be also some restricted items as well.
Lauda - University of Lapland institutional repository You can seach for content of Lauda also in LUC Finna
LutPub - Lappeenranta University of Technology publication repository LUTPub includes Bachelor's and Master's theses, licentiate theses, doctoral dissertations and their abstracts. In addition, publications, research datasets, teaching and presentation materials are stored in the LUTPub.
Osuva - open publications archive of University of Vaasa Osuva includes publications, theses and parallel publications of scholarly articles at University of Vaasa. Osuva includes references, abstracts and full text of the publications. The digital archive collections are not accessible online.
Trepo - Open institutional repository of Tampere University Trepo includes open access publications of Tampere University: self-archived articles and other open publications of the Tampere University staff as well as theses of the University. The Open Access books of Tampere University Press will be published on Trepo portal in the TUP OA Books collection.
UTUPub - open institutional repository of the University of Turku UTUPub collections consist of graduate theses from the university; dissertations, licentiate theses, master's theses, and abstracts of the master's theses. In addition to theses other publications published by the faculties and departments of the University of Turku are stored in the repository.
Åbo Academi University repository in Doria Chance to option This community when starting your search.

How to use theses

When writing your own thesis, you will benefit from browsing through existing graduate theses (UAS thesis, Master's Thesis). Theses provide

ideas when you are desiding what will be your own research topic. Find out what kind of theses are already made about the topic? In what way the topic is discussed in these theses?
quick overview of the topic. What kind of material is used in the theoretical background in the existing theses? Find the original source that is listed in the thesis reference list.
hints to find material for the reseach. From the reference list of the thesis you will find publications that otherwise you did not even tought of. Source criticism is needed when evaluating the usefulness of the publications.
You can use the reference lists to find tips for the search terms. Titles of the publications provide new words that you can try out when you make searches in the databases.

As a rule the theses are not used to provide a knowledge base when writing your own theses. You may consider to use a thesis as a source, if the information or practical solution presented in the thesis is so novel, that there is not infromation about it in other publications.

If you site a publication in you thesis text, make sure that the publication is also listed in your reference list.

Check the instructions for Lapland UAS reference notations (library version)