To add a publication Click the green button, in top right corner.
A pop-up window opens. There you can select the method for creating a publication.
It is easiest to import from an online source if your publication is available for importing in a database. Articles published in international scientific journals are often included in Scopus, Web of Science or ORCID. Write your name in the author field and part of the title of your organization (Lapland) in the affiliation field and click Search. You can import your publications one after another if they are not marked as already imported or duplicates. (Please check: sometimes the duplicates aren't real duplicates.)
Most scientific journals provide you with the option to import from file. Usually, on the web page of the article, there is something like "Export citation" or "Download citation" either directly or behind a button like "Cite" or "Tools". Choose either RIS or BibTeX format for importing and either save to file and upload it or copy and paste to the form in LaCRIS.
You can also create the publication record manually from a template: Select publication type and subtype and the publication template will open. Fields marked with a red asterisk are mandatory.
Change the publication status to "E-pub ahead of print" if the article is published as an "early online" version without volume and issue numbers.
Inputting month and date is not mandatory but they set the order of your publications in the research portal if you have many articles published in the same year.
The library will then change the status to published when the volume and issue numbers and the final publishing year are available.
If you input the publication information already when the article is accepted, choose "Accepted / In press" as the status. Please, do not input the publication information, when the publication is submitted but not yet accepted.
The articles will be shown on your public home page when the status is either "Published", "E-pub ahead of print" or "Accepted / In press". If you want to input your publications when you have submitted them, the system sets the visibility to the backend. Do not switch it public until the publication is at least accepted!
You can also ask the library to input your publication data in LaCRIS. Please, either send the information by email to lacris@ulapland.fi or bring the material to the service desk of the library with a stick note with the text "LaCRIS" on them.
You can set up automated searches for publications in ORCID, Scopus, Mendeley and Web of Science. If you set up such, searches are performed every 7 days and the system will send you messages of the candidates found.
To set up the automated searches,
The University of Lapland has signed the Declaration for open science and research, that means that all peer-reviewed scientific articles (and other publications as well if possible) full-texts shall be self-archived openly in an institutional or disciplinary repository. The institutional repository of the University of Lapland is LaCRIS. Many funders of scientific research do also require that peer-reviewed articles produced in projects funded by them shall be self-archived or published in OA channels. Link to OA full text on the publisher's web site shall be added to the metadata of the article.
You can self-archive the full-texts yourself or you can ask the library to do it (send the proper pdf file to lacris@ulapland.fi). You can ask for help and advice from the same address. If the metadata of the article is already validated by the library, you cannot upload the full-text file by yourself - please, ask the library to do it.
Please, remember that you have to have your co-authors' permission to upload the full-text to LaCRIS.
By uploading the full-text file or by giving it to the library for uploading you accept the conditions of self-archiving:
After choosing the journal you will see the Open Access guidance for the journal:
The self-archived version should be the "Published version" whenever the publisher allows it. However, usually the publishers allow self-archiving of the "Accepted version". Click the small arrows in front of the texts and check your rights to the published and accepted versions. As LaCRIS is regarded as an institutional repository, which means that you can self-archive such a version, for which institutional repository is indicated in the "Locations". Check also whether there has to be an embargo period for opening the text, how long it has to be and what license you have to set for the full text. There might be also some journal-specific additional information that has to be taken into account.
These conditions are usually given in the publishing contract as well. If the contract says that you have all rights to the publication, you can self-archive the full text of it.
Versions of the article
Draft, Author’s Original Version = the manuscript that is originally submitted to a journal
Preprint = a complete scientific manuscript that is uploaded by the authors to a public server before the formal peer-review and publication
Postprint = Author’s Accepted Manuscript = Final Draft = the version of the article that is accepted to the journal after the peer-review process but not yet gone through the layout and page design
Proof = Camera-Ready = the last version of the article with the final layout and page design, sent by the publisher to the author for final check before publishing - NOT allowed to upload!
Publisher’s PDF = Version of Record = the final, published version of the article
Add the full-text by clicking "Add electronic version (file, DOI, or link)..."
then you have to choose the type.
NB! Add the link or DOI first. Then upload the electronic version.
For each of these options you have to add:
Save!
Artistic outputs are input like publications by clicking the green button
Then choose the type of your artistic or non-textual output
After choosing the type, you'll see a template.
At first, choose the category of your output. It defines the MoEC publication type. Then input information at every field marked with a red asterisk. Unfortunately, the template is a bit uncomfortable – created too much like templates for publications.
Every artistic output has to have
In order to be accepted to reports for the Ministry of Education and Culture and for the university, the decision of publishing your output must be done by someone or some organization independent of you.
There can be both a publisher and an event, which means that e.g. the organizer of an event can be registered as the publisher, or a museum / gallery can be the publisher and the event is the exhibition, in which your work, that you are now registering, is included in.
If the artistic output is an outcome of a project, remember to link the project in the Relations part of the template.
In the Faculty of Arts and Design, you can also ask the administrative secretary to input the information for you.
If you have been working or spend a while in another research organization and have written or write publications there, you can input them in LaCRIS, but you have to mark that organization as your affiliation in LaCRIS. Click the Edit-button next to your name and remove the tick next to the affiliation at our university and click the button "Affiliate to an external organisation".
If you have published something in other universities or research institutes and the publications are registered in their CRIS-systems, the publication metadata can be transferred to LaCRIS, if the CRIS of the previous institution can export the data in a suitable format. So, transfer of the publication metadata is possible at least from:
If you would like that your publication data would be transferred from your previous institution to LaCRIS, please, contact the library lacris@ulapland.fi.
We cannot guarantee that all the oldest publications could be transferred: if they are not included in the current CRIS system of the previous organisation, they won't be transferred.
The library validates all research output information before they included in the reports to the Ministry of Education and Culture as well as reports within the university.
In addition to normal publication metadata, the library checks:
If there is something unclear, the library will contact the authors.
Administrative Secretary in the Faculty of Arts and Design records information on the artistic research output of the Faculty of Arts and Design before they are included in the reports
In addition to checking the metadata, the following is checked
